23/01/2018 20:55
English Italiano 

Media and Communication
The 4th edition of arcVision Prize – Women and Architecture is underway
The winner will be unveiled next 7 April
8th March 2016

The fourth edition of the arcVision Prize – Women and Architecture is underway. Launched by Italcementi Group in 2013, the prize aims to give recognition to women whose work brings an innovative new design, theoretical or practical approach to the economic, social and cultural issues at play in the field of architecture.

The arcVision Prize is now an internationally recognised award (a Pritzker for women, if you will) which has so far considered 160 architects from around the world.

Over the last few months, a group of Advisors from all over the world identified around 40 architects. These were then evaluated by a Technical and Cultural Commission, which drew up a shortlist of 20 nominees.

The international Jury examined the nominees and their projects on 7th and 8th March at i.lab, Italcementi Group research and innovation centre in Bergamo.

The Jury, which has been specifically designed to comprise women only, features an array of outstanding professionals from the world of architecture and – more generally – figures involved in promoting sustainable innovation in the socio-economic context: Shaikha Al Maskari (member of the board of the Arab International Women's Forum-AIWF), Vera Baboun (Mayor of Bethlehem), Odile Decq (owner of the Odile Decq architecture firm), Yvonne Farrell (co-founder of Grafton Architects), Daniela Hamaui (journalist), Louisa Hutton (co-founder of the Sauerbruch Hutton architectural practice), Suhasini Mani Ratnam (an Indian actress, producer and writer), Samia Nkrumah (President of the Kwame Nkrumah Pan-African Center), Benedetta Tagliabue (owner of the Miralles Tagliabue EMBT architectural firm), Martha Thorne (Director of the Pritzker Prize).

Every year, the arcVision Prize recognises a female architecture whose innovative design work demonstrates commendable quality and significant attention to the central themes of construction: technology, sustainability, social and cultural implications. In selecting its nominees, the prize tends to favour architects operating in particularly difficult conditions, both in terms of the specific location and context of the work and the wider conditions affecting the area. The result is an accurate snapshot of contemporary female architecture, with past editions being won by Carla Juaçaba (Brazil, 2013), Ines Lobo (Portugal, 2014) and Angela Deuber (Switzerland, 2015).

The 2016 edition of the arcVision Prize will reach its climax in a brand-new location: during the Triennale di Milano’s XXI International Exhibition, which is returning to the city for the first time in 20 years, the arcVision Prize awards ceremony – usually held at Italcementi i.lab in Bergamo – will in fact take place at the Triennale Milano’s Teatro dell’Arte on 7 April.
The international Jury examined the nominees and their projects on 7th and 8th March at i.lab, Italcementi Group research and innovation centre in Bergamo.


More info

 The Jury
 The Nominees
Useful links
Coming events

Six Monthly Magazine dedicated to high-profile contributions in Industry, Economy and Architecture.


Legal information | Corporate data | System requirements | Site map | 

© Italcementi Copyright - P.IVA 00223700162

Italcementi - Via Camozzi, 124 - 24121 Bergamo, Italy - Tel. +39 035 396 111

Last update 11/03/2016 13:32:13  UTC